So I haven’t been very active in the blogging world as of late because I have been so entirely and ridiculously overactive in the real world. Overwhelmingly so.

I recently started teaching art for an elementary school. K-8th grade. It has been one of the greatest challenges of my life so far, and we are only 5 weeks in.

As challenging as it is, I am thrilled to have the chance to share my passion for art with people who may have never experienced it before. Most of the kids haven’t had art classes in a long time, if ever, and I’m excited to see what they come up with this year.

That being said, I am taking a small hiatus from making art until I feel as though I have the swing of this teaching thing. The beauty of teaching is that I will have 4 breaks a year to work on my own art and travel. I fully intend on taking advantage of the weeks without classes to get dirty in the studio. Until then I will be sharing some of the art my students will be making.

Don’t worry, I have 3 large sculptures in progress so it won’t be long until I just can’t stand to see their sad little faces unfinished and begging to be hung on a wall. So I’ll be back in the game soon enough. But first, here’s a picture of my very own, first ever, gigantic and wonderful classroom. Thanks mom for helping me paint the tables and make it look brand new. <3

Uncategorized

Art Smart

Gallery

One thought on “Art Smart

  1. Anonymous says:

    Lindz,
    I love your classroom and how enthusiastic you are about teaching students art. I am so very very proud of you. Teaching can be hard at times especially when you are first starting out, but it is so rewarding too. Keep up the good work and wonderful attitude.

    Love you,
    Aunt Sue

Comments are closed.